

A cricket team has 11 players. Cricket is played on a specially-prepared strip of land, called the pitch, between the two sets of wickets.

Each wicket has three wooden stumps and two bails that are placed on the stumps.

One team bats and the other fields. The fielder behind the wicket is called the wicket keeper.

A cricket test match lasts five days. One Day International (ODI) matches last only a day, and each side is allowed to play a maximum of 50 overs.

Twenty-20 is the latest version of cricket in which each team is allowed to play a maximum of 20 overs.

An over has six deliveries.

Sinruns

Recognise these signals made by the Umpire.





no ball

Batsman

aut

Wicket keeper

Bowler